Walking New Terrains

July, 2017

page parts assembled 2

At the end of June I got on a plane headed for Catalonia, Spain. After completing two demanding projects, Poetry of the Wild/Newport and Makers Unknown    I needed a recharge on many levels. The first week I was in residence at the Art Print Residence in Arenys del Mar,  a fabulous printmaking studio where I was training in wood lithography and wood cut for future projects. This last week, I’m in Barcelona with the Jiwar Residency creating a poetry box for the city, the second international box for Poetry of the Wild. My timeline is short, one week, and this is Barcelona with its delightful distractions. The residency is based in a historic section of Barcelona, Gracia, with a  very strong sense of neighborhood. I’ve come with no tools and must rely on what I find in the city. Miro, and his visual poetry is an obvious inspiration. Here are my notes as the process unfolds.

 

Leave a Reply

